Too much?

Is there a such thing as over-attachment? I read articles about kids who don’t attach to their caregivers for various reasons (none of them good), but I’ve never heard of a kid who is too attached.

But here we are. Carlos, this time. The older he gets to more he refuses to leave my side. He’s always had a hard time separating. In preschool each year it would take a month or two to have a drop off without crying. Shoot, last school year he was still having meltdowns in May.

Homeschooling seems to somehow make it worse. We are spending more time together than we ever did. We literally spend his every waking moment if not in the same room, then at least in the same home.

Now he won’t go anywhere without me or Jett. He ran out of Sunday School this morning twice to find me (teachers in hot pursuit). He insists that either J or I go into the backyard with him to play.

I don’t know what to do. Is it because we are homeschooling and he isn’t learning to be independent? Is it because we spend so much time and energy on Jett that he feels like he needs constant attention?

I just don’t know.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

