No hair cut for you!

I took the kids to get a hair cut this week, not knowing I was setting Jett up for the biggest sensory fail he has experienced in quite a while.

See, in our old neighborhood I took the kids to one of those just-for-kids salons. If you’ve never seen the kind, they have video games or movies at all the chairs, and the focus is getting as many kids hair cut as possible in one day. No frills, just a quick scissor or clipper cut that takes maybe 10 minutes.

In the new neighborhood, no such place exists, at least that I have seen. So I took them all to the new salon where I recently had my hair cut. And bless the lady, she offered to shampoo the kid’s hair. I said yes. I thought it would be a treat.

Clearly, I wasn’t wearing my sensory lens.

Suffice it to say, a hair wash at a salon does NOT rank in Jett’s top 10 experiences. The water splashed his face, the lady scrubbed too hard, it made his neck hurt. Add that to the loud music and the smell of the nail station, and you can start to envision his discomfort.

I also mistakenly let him go first.

Even his precious Nintendo DS couldn’t distract him from his itching neck while he waited for Carlos and Letty to have their hair cut. While he rolled on the floor trying to hold his shirt as far from his body as possible (I had said he had to remain clothed in the building) I offered my iPhone. Usually playing on it is such a treat an earthquake couldn’t distract him. And playing it did enable us to get back home without him stripping in the middle of the salon.

So if we wait another six months or so before we attempt another hair cut, you’ll know why. I’m pretty sure neither of us want to do that again for a long time.

Long hair looks good on boys, right?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No hair cut for you!

  1. Lauren says:

    Oh My. One of those days you just can’t win for losing! Poor Jett!!! Poor all of you! I’ve heard and read that in those moments you should keep repeating to yourself, “This is not about me!!!” Abigail’s already given me several opportunities to practice! it’s so much easier to handle outbursts in private!

Leave a Reply

