My Aspie stinks in math

Ironic, isn’t it?

One of the major stereotypes of Asperger’s Syndrome is an ability to function way above average in math.

Poor Jett. He must not have read that part of the book.

Math is killing him right now. It doesn’t help that the teaching style between the school last year and the school this year couldn’t be more different. He comes home with so much homework, we barely have time for living. Needless to say, none of us here at home are a fan.

Math is the worst culprit by far. Somehow Jett has made it to the third grade still adding and subtracting with his fingers. He never memorized his addition and subtraction facts, which makes the higher math harder and take longer.

Couple that with the fact that he does, in spades, have the Aspie trait of not focusing, and the problems with school just become compounded. His teacher pulled me aside yesterday to tell me that he was daydreaming all day yesterday. Yep. I can believe it. His first week of school he complained it was too hard and there wasn’t any time to “think his thoughts”. I guess he’s managed to carve out that time.

He now gets an aid in the morning and last thing in the afternoon to help him with transitions to and from school, including making sure his homework gets copied down and into the backpack. Unfortunately, an aid can’t guarantee the information actually makes it into his brain.

He is a really smart kid. That is part of my frustration. It’s too bad school isn’t one of his super-interests. If he spent a quarter of the energy he spends on memorizing car facts, or star wars facts, or Harry Potter facts on memorizing addition and subtraction facts he would be a star. But alas, right now, that isn’t in his bag of tricks.

Too bad those daydreams don’t include addition and subtraction.

 

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Aspie stinks in math

  1. akbutler says:

    Having almost the exact issue with my oldest, actually. It’s not that he doesn’t know it, but he doesn’t see the point of it, so he daydreams and then is lost. His tests show that he knows how to do the problem, but he still gets it wrong because of the basic adding/subtracting skills.
    I have to say I adore his line about time to think his thoughts. There’s something very special and oh-so-right about that to me. Just hard that it comes during math time.

    • It’s such a tough thing. And one of the reasons I tried homeschooling because I know Jett doesn’t thrive in a typical classroom. Alas. You’ll love this, too… his therapist today brought up ADHD. As in, has he been tested and what do you think about adding that diagnosis? The recommendation for medication is just around the corner, I think. And I don’t know WHAT I think about that.

  2. Susie says:

    You KNOW I can relate to this one! I too have the One Aspie that isn’t gifted in math. We are finally getting more support at school and that seems to have helped a bit. It’s especially tough when I myself can’t do math–so I am NO help at all! I feel your pain!!

  3. I was really bad at math in school, too, and I STILL count on my fingers. I get a sort of sense sometimes of what the correct answer is, but it doesn’t come to me as an actual number. It’s more like the feeling of someone standing behind me looking over my shoulder. I know it’s there, and it makes me nervous, but I can’t actually see it. I didn’t understand math until the second time I took algebra in college, when I got a teacher who taught me what the formulas meant and where they came from.

    Also, this book: http://www.amazon.com/Where-Mathematics-Comes-Embodied-Brings/dp/0465037704

    It’s obviously not written for someone Jett’s age, but having read it as an adult really helped me get over my math panic. It actually turns out I’m kind of good at math when it’s taught well.

    I’m just curious, but does he mix up numbers that look similar? That was always something for me: 3 and 8, 2 and 5, 4 and 9.

  4. I am a 55 YO recently self diagnosed “via high online test scores” thus in the process of confirming that I am an Aspie, any way I have to say all my life I have had extreme difficulty with mathematics, and from what I have read – it seems a high percentage of Aspies are in the same boat.

  5. Chelle says:

    I was diagnosed AS, NVLD, OCD as a kid, (age 7). 21 years old now. Still suck at most aspects of math. Math was my monster in high school and intensified in it’s monstrosoty status in 12th grade when the good teacher left, a not so good teacher took her place and they wouldn’t even let me keep my EA for the class. Only one to do math with later in day but if I wanna cry for an hour cuz of it in the morning, I definitely don’t wanna go back to it later with someone who isn’t even in the class with me. I know I’m venting but I really despised grade 12 math.

Leave a Reply

