Crunchy Intro

I’m taking a break from Autism today to talk about being crunchy. As in, using natural products, for me, mostly in the beauty department. I have come to realize I’m a crunchy girl and I better just embrace it! Speaking of crunchy, check out this blog if you have a few minutes… or hours.

I dislike the chemicals in most of our beauty products. Given that our skin is our largest organ, shouldn’t we watch what we put on it? I’m going to do a quick synopsis of my projects both current and future, and plan to do separate posts on each of them with more details.

Hair

I tried the No ‘Poo experiment last year for about 5 months. It eventually didn’t work that well for me. As my hair got longer and the days got hotter (it was over 100 for about a bajillion days last summer) my hair looked worse and worse. I went back to shampoo, and only recently have been thinking about trying no poo again. I found an article on crunchy betty about Sorta ‘Poo using castille soap and coconut milk. I’ve added it to my to-do list.

Skin

I made a hard lotion a few weeks ago from this recipe. It works great as a cuticle cream and chap stick. I’m going to look for empty chap stick tubes to put it in.

I’ve been wanting a lotion that was creamy enough to use on my body after the shower. Currently I use straight coconut oil, but it’s solid at room temp, which makes it hard to apply and it’s not quite moisturizing enough for my winter skin. So yesterday I melted together coconut oil, cocoa butter and jojoba oil. Then I whipped it (like frosting) so it would have a creamy consistency. So far, so good, though I smell like dessert and am craving sweets more than usual.

Deodorant

This is perhaps my most successful area. I’ve been afraid to blog about it, because who wants to talk about their armpits??? But for a year now I’ve been mixing together equal parts coconut oil, baking soda, and corn starch. After I shower I apply a little bigger than a pea size amount under my arms. And I don’t stink. I do sweat, but you get used to that. So there you go, more than you ever needed to know about my armpits.

Face

My skin is terrible. It’s aging and has pimples. Lucky, I know. I’ve never been happy with any of the face stuff I’ve used, and I feel like I’ve tried it all… expensive or cheap, nothing works. I’ve been researching the Oil Cleansing Method, and I have been very skeptical. Yesterday I decided why not? If I try it and break out, how is that any different? And then I will know. So I mixed together a concoction specific to my skin type and gave it a go. I’ll update as I try it out.

That’s it for now. I do feel a bit like a chemist with all my jars and bottles of oils and potions.

Or maybe a sorcerer with a witches brew…sure hope my face doesn’t turn green and warty.

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Crunchy Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crunchy Intro

  1. Lauren says:

    I think I might have mastered the baking soda wash for hair. I put a spoonful (heaping) in an empty cup and bring it in the shower with me. I use hot water and give my hair a really good rinse and comb it out. I fill the cup with water and kind of stir it up, then dump it on my head. I comb it out with that, too. Then another really good rinse. I haven’t had a single issue since trying this method- and once accidentally went 3 days without a shower!

    I tried adding lavender oil to my deodorant and it works well. I need to get some tea tree or something next time!

Leave a Reply

